You have permission to edit this article.

Election Guide: Roswell

  • Updated
  • 0

Election season is here and the Alpharetta-Roswell Herald wants to help. We put this page together as a resource and will update it regularly. Be sure to bookmark it, check back for more information and share it with a neighbor if you find it helpful. 


  • What is on the ballot?
  • Who is on the ballot?
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Candidate Questionnaires
  • Additional Coverage
  • More Resources

Voting FAQs 

I’m registered to vote in Roswell. What will I see on my ballot? 

Roswell residents will vote for the Mayor and three City Council seats (Posts 4, 5 and 6).

As part of Fulton County, Roswell voters will be asked whether to renew the .75-cent Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax, or TSPLOST. (Read more about Roswell's TSPLOST vote here.)

Voters will also whether to continue the one-percent Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax for education for a sixth, 5-year term. 

(Read more about Fulton County's education SPLOST here.)

Which City Council seats will I vote for? 

All city council seats are At-Large, meaning that residents of Roswell are able to cast votes for every seat.

Three of the six seats are up for election in 2021. Voters will elect Post 4, Post 5 and Post 6. For two of the seats, incumbents are seeking reelection. 

When can I vote? 

Election Day is Tuesday, November 2. 

What about early voting? 

Voters may cast their ballots early in-person from Tuesday, October 12 to Friday, October 29. Polling places will be open from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. 

Where can I vote? 

There are two polling places in the City of Roswell:  

  • The Roswell Branch Library (115 Norcross Street, Roswell, GA, 30075)
  • The East Roswell Branch Library (2301 Holcomb Bridge Road, Roswell, GA, 30076)

Voters are required to vote at their designated polling place. See where you are assigned to vote here.

What about absentee voting? 

Georgia’s General Assembly changed the process for absentee voting in 2021. For more information please see this guide from Fulton County.

The last day to request an absentee ballot is October 22. 

How do I know if I'm registered to vote?

You can check your registration status here.

I'm not registered to vote. Is it too late?

Yes. The voter registration deadline was October 4.

Candidate Guide 


All Roswell voters are eligible to vote in the mayoral race. The mayor serves four-year terms. 

  • Lori Henry (Incumbent) 
  • Kurt Wilson
  • Jason Yowell

City Council 

There are six Roswell City Council seats. They are all “At-Large,” meaning that any registered voter can cast a ballot in each race, regardless of where they live in Roswell. Members of city council serve for four years, and three are up for election every other year. In 2021 voters will elect Posts 4, Post 5 and Post 6. 

Post 4

  • Marie Willsey (Incumbent)
  • Peter Vanstrom

Post 5

  • Michael Dal Cerro
  • Yalonda Freeman
  • Will Morthland

Matt Tyser currently holds the Roswell City Council Post 5 seat. He is not seeking re-election. 

Post 6

  • Matt Judy (Incumbent)
  • Lee Hills

Candidate Questionnaires 

The Herald is sending questionnaires to all candidates, and their answers will be posted here.

Do you have a question you’d like us to ask? Email it to

Additional Coverage

Aug. 20 - The qualification period ends for candidates. You can read the coverage from Chamian Cruz here.

10 qualify for Roswell City Council races

Sept. 20 - The three mayoral candidates participated in a debate hosted by the Roswell Community Masjid. You can read the coverage from Chamian Cruz here.

Roswell City Council candidates work to discern themselves from incumbents at first debate

Sept. 22 - Seven city council candidates participated in a debate hosted by the Roswell Community Masjid. You can read the coverage from Chamian Cruz here.

Roswell mayoral candidates debate transparency, economic growth

Oct. 7 - The public had a chance to meet candidates one-on-one at a forum hosted by the Roswell Woman’s Club, Roswell NEXT and League of Women Voters of Atlanta-Fulton. You can read the coverage from Chamian Cruz here.

Roswell City Council, mayoral candidates chat with voters

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.